John N. Gardner Institute for Excellence in Undergraduate Education

Thank you for visiting from the Chronicle of Higher Education, and welcome to the Foundations of Excellence® website.

You are invited to join the 2012-2013 Foundations of Excellence National Select Cohort. With the Guidance of John N. Gardner, Betsy O. Barefoot, Drew Koch, and the staff of the John N. Gardner Institute for Excellence in Undergraduate Education, your institution will engage in a comprehensive self-study process and create an action plan to improve student learning and retention. At the completion of this effort, your institution will join over 230 institutions that have undertaken this important work and are now implementing changes to improve the first-year and/or transfer student experience.

Independent research corrlelates participation in Foundations of Excellence with gains in IPEDS first-to-second year retention rates and increased tuition revenue.

Click here for information on the Foundations of Excellence.

You can also join us for interactive live webinars to explore Foundations of Excellence self studies. See the current schedule of webinars.

If you have any questions, please contact us at or call 800-385.8399. More contact information is available on our staff page.

*Click to view the Foundations of Excellence 2011-2012 National Select Cohort*

F= First Year self study  T= Transfer Focus self study

Four-Year Institutions

  • CUNY – Queens College (F,T)
  • Flagler College (F)
  • Kwantlen Polytechnic University (F)
  • Purdue University – Main (F)
  • Saint John Fisher College (F)
  • Texas A&M Univeristy – Kingsville (F)
  • University of Maine at Fort Kent (F)
  • University of Southern Maine (F,T)

Two-Year Institutions

  • Ashland Community & Technical College (T)
  • Big Sandy Community & Technical College (F,T)
  • Bluegrass Community & Technical College (F,T)
  • Bowling Green Technical College (T)
  • Chemeketa Community College (F)
  • Clackamas Community College (F)
  • Clatsop Community College (F)
  • Columbia Gorge Community College (F)
  • Elizabethtown Community & Technical College (T)
  • Gateway Community & Technical College (F,T)
  • Hazard Community & Technical College (T)
  • Henderson Community College (T)
  • Hopkinsville Community College (T)
  • Ivy Tech Community College – Central Indiana (F)
  • Jefferson Community & Technical College
  • Lane Community College (F)
  • Linn-Benton Community College (F)
  • Lone Star College System (F)
  • Madisonville Community College (T)
  • Maysville Community & Technical College (T)
  • North Iowa Area Community College (F)
  • Northwest Vista College (F)
  • Owensboro Community & Technical College  (F,T)
  • Somerset Community College (T)
  • Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College (T)
  • St. Philips College/Southwest Campus (F)
  • Tillamook Bay Community College (F)
  • Waubonsee Community College (F,T)
  • West Kentucky Community & Technical College (F,T)